Free Introduction Course to
Traditional Chinese Medicine

Explore the basics of Traditional Chinese medicine, by signing up for our Foundations I, II, and III courses. 

These are 3 real introductory courses taught in the beginning of the Doctor of Traditional Chinese Medicine degree program. 



What You'll Learn:

Foundations I with Assistant Professor Juan Li:
The Five Zang and the Six Fu organs all have their own unique functions, maintaining the normal functioning of these organs is the best way to maintain one’s health. The Five Zang organs include: the heart, the lungs, the spleen, the liver, and the kidneys. This trial course introduces the spleen of the Five Zang. In TCM theory, the spleen is the key organ to digest nutrients. It holds a crucial role in transforming, transporting, and distributing essences for the whole body. The spleen also dislikes coldness and dampness. In this excerpt, FBU assistant professor Juan Li discusses ways we can keep coldness and dampness at bay to keep our spleen healthy through dietetics.

Foundations II with Instructor Nicholas Hancock:
How can environmental conditions affect functions of the human body under the perspective of TCM? According to Chinese Medicine Theories, There are exterior invasions and interior diseases. Exterior invasions invade the body form the outside and lead to diseases whereas interior diseases stem from the yin yang imbalance of the organs within the body. There are Six Evils (Liuyin) which dwell within our living environments and can invade our bodies exteriorly, they include: Wind, cold, heat, damp, dryness, and fire. The Six Evils cause diseases when our bodies fail to have harmonious relationships with the environment. Listen to FBU Instructor Nicholas Hancock as he elaborates why and how the Six Evils can have adverse effects upon our health. 

Foundations II with Assistant Professor Juan Li:
In TCM theory, when our bodies cannot adapt to have a harmonious relationship with the environment we live in, we are easily susceptible to the effects of exterior invasions of the 6 Evils (Liuyin), which hinder our bodily functions and cause diseases. There are different ways these diseases can progress in the human body and Traditional Chinese Medicine has developed several theories including The Six Stages of Shang Han Lun and The Four Levels of Wen Bing Lun to analyze such progression. In this video, FBU assistant professor Juan Li discusses how exterior invasions can progress depending on factors such as our constitution. Professor Li will also dive into the specific clinical signs of each stage or level of disease according to their respective theory.

Sign-Up Form

We'll reach out shortly to give you access to the course!